Three steps to be more consistent

Take a minute a check your calendar from last week. What’s on it? What things did you give the all-important spots in your daily schedule? What priorities rose to the top and what things fell to the bottom, or got pushed to the next week or next month?

Many have made mention of the reality that your schedule reveals your priorities. When I look at my calendar, I see that the main things include lesson planning, spending time in coffee shops with other people, spending time in meetings, and working out or training for our Costa Rica 5K fundraiser. The evenings are decently blank, meaning time spent with family.

When I take it seriously that my schedule reveals my priorities, it causes me to take stock of what my priorities actually are.

 

1. Prioritize it

Before it makes it to your calendar, it has to be something you care about and want to actually be a part of your life. Do you want a vibrant, growing, abundant life-relationship with God? Or do you just want to go through the motions and leave just that Sunday morning time slot as your time with God?

When I think about the priorities of my life regarding spiritual matters, I can’t help but think of the way the Psalmist prioritized his relationship with God. He pursued God like a thirsty animal pursuing water (Psalm 42:1 As the deer longs for streams of water, so I long for you, O God). He spoke to God in the morning (Psalm 5:3 Listen to my voice in the morning, LORD. Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly), evening, and middle of the day (Psalm 55:17 Morning, noon, and night I cry out in my distress, and the LORD hears my voice).

 

2. Schedule it

Find a time that works best for you. It doesn’t have to be the morning. It doesn’t have to be in the evening. It could be in the car, in the shower, during a workout, or any other time of the day. I do the mornings because that is what works best for me and what I feel is necessary in my life for me to do. I feel it when I miss it.

Are you willing to make time with God an essential part of your schedule? Scripture is full of examples encouraging us to make it a priority. Matthew 5:16 says Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

Psalm 119:97 shows the necessity of making time for God’s Word: Oh, how I love your instructions! I think about them all day long.

Why should you schedule it? Jesus says in Matthew 4:4 But he answered, “It is written, “‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”

 

3. Stick with it

What happens if you get tired or busy or forget one day? Keep going. Keep pushing. Keep going after it. Don’t give up when it gets tough!

Philippians 3:13-14 says Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

Paul had times when he got discouraged, when he felt like giving up, but instead he forgot what lies behind and strained forward to what lies ahead. He didn’t give up; he pressed on. Press on!

No one developed discipline without difficulty. You will struggle, but stick with it. Don’t let anything derail you. This is one decision you will never regret.

 

 

What does your schedule reveal about your priorities? Use these three steps today and develop some more consistency in making time for God each day.

 

Your feedback matters!

What would you add to this? What is helpful for you in being disciplined each day to spend time with God?

Leave a Reply

