the sacrificial husband

Here is a challenge to all the husbands out there:

This morning I read in a devotional on the YouVersion Bible App called “Man Up.” The writer said this:

“Christ gave up God-powers to come to a fallen earth to be spat on, cursed at, beaten, and ultimately killed for our sake. Christ is to be our example for our wives. What are you willing to sacrifice for your wife? Hobbies, friends, and everything from our single-life becomes secondary to our wives when we get married.”

Ouch.

I’m not sure about you, but that punched me in the gut.

Especially when it’s paired with Scripture, from the New Testament book of Ephesians:

Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her (5:25 ESV).

and also Philippians 2:4 ESV

Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others.

This is something that I am not excellent at. Maybe I’m 50/50. Some days a little higher; some days a little lower.

No matter how good or bad or indifferent I am that this, though, changes the fact that Jesus Christ gave up everything for me. The Bible calls me to love my wife in such a way that I give myself up, or sacrifice my wants, desires, and hobbies at times to defer to her ways, wants, desires, hobbies.

Husbands, how would that change your marriage? How would it change the way you see your wife and your role in the marriage relationship?

There will almost certainly be an opportunity for you to love and give yourself up for your wife today. What would happen if you took that opportunity? I’m going to do my best to do that today.

I’d love to hear a story about you making that decision too. Share a story in the comments!

Leave a Reply

